Under California’s Penal Code 290, people convicted of certain sex crimes must register as a sex offender with their local law enforcement agency, each year, within five days of their birthday. The state no longer requires lifetime sex registration, but rather, has a three-tiered system. Those convicted of the lowest level of sex crimes, such as misdemeanor sexual battery or indecent exposure, need only register for 10 years. Those on tier 2, convicted of mid-level sex crimes like lewdness with a minor under 14, must register for 20 years. Tier 3 offenders must register for their entire lives. This applies to the most serious sex offenses, such as rape and sex trafficking. If you are charged with a sexual offense, you need the help of a San Francisco criminal defense attorney who understands these laws inside and out. Call our California Law Firm today for a free consultation so that you can achieve the best possible outcome in your case.